Board index German - English Find German translation Translation check on short beginner German passage please?
What's the German translation of a word or phrase? Is my translation correct? Please give as much context as possible ...
3 posts • Page 1 of 1

24.09.2012 10:06:05

Translation check on short beginner German passage please?

by Johnny Gunn
Hey guys! It'd greatly appreciate if someone could quickly check this passage over grammatically for me:

Mein Name ist Johnny Gunn und ich bin achtzehn Jahre alt. Ich bin der Studentin zu University of Toronto, wo ich studiere die Sozialwissenschaften, und Ich lebe in das Studentenwohnheim zu Straße St. Jeffrey und Straße Hanley. In meiner Freizeit, Ich spiele die Sports wie zum Beispiel das Tennis und die Badminton und ich laufe Geländelauf und ich trainiere. Auch, ich hänge mit meinen Freunden rum viel und ich mag das Fotografieren.

24.09.2012 12:22:50

Re: Translation check on short beginner German passage please?

by fredbär

Hallo Johnny Gunn,

A few comments/suggestions;

Mein Name ist Johnny Gunn und ich bin achtzehn Jahre alt.

Perfect. You could also say 'Ich heiße Johnny Gunn...‘

Ich bin der Studentin zu University of Toronto,

Studentin = female student: Male student is just Student.

When describing what you do for a living, Germans don’t use an object. And you study ‘an’ a university.

Ich bin Student(in) an der Universität Toronto,

wo ich studiere die Sozialwissenschaften,

in a sub-clause like this, the verb goes to the end, I don’t think you need the definite article and social sciences isn’t plural in German;

wo ich Sozialwissenschaft studiere.

und Ich lebe in das Studentenwohnheim zu Straße St. Jeffrey und Straße Hanley.

'ich‘ doesn’t get a capital in German, and they tend to use ‘wohnen’ rather than ‘leben’ in this sense.

und ich wohne im Studentenwohnheim St. Jeffrey Straße Ecke Hanley Straße.
(although Germans don’t usually describe addresses that way.)